Hello guys!

Recently, I am feeling quite tired because I started my summer job, but I had this zip culotte in mind for a long time, so I decided to make it, no matter how tired I was.

The pattern is from Burda Style (07/2016) model 107A. This is the first time I ever followed a ready pattern and I had a hard time trying to understand the instructions. I tried to take plenty of photos for you to see every single step, if you wish to sew this particular garment.

Let’s begin!

First of all, prepare your pattern. And coffee. Make coffee.

DSC_0033

DSC_0034.jpg

DSC_0037.jpg

Lay the pattern on your fabric. Try to figure out the best way possible to lay the pieces so that you have some extra fabric in case you do something wrong.

DSC_0039

DSC_0040.jpg

Transfer the pattern information on your fabric

DSC_0042

 

DSC_0045

I did a ladder stitch to sew the darts together, because I think this is the most secure way to get them right. You are free to use whatever method you like best.

DSC_0051

DSC_0052

DSC_0053.jpg

I marked the seam lines on the pockets and then pressed the marked areas face to face with the other pocket parts so that the lines are transfered. (Genius)

DSC_0055

DSC_0056.jpg

DSC_0057.jpg

DSC_0058

Sew the pieces together.

DSC_0059DSC_0060DSC_0061

Place the pockets where your pattern tells you to.

DSC_0062DSC_0063

Sew.

DSC_0064

I used a foot with a guide to sew the top of the pocket. Optional, but it’s the details that make the difference.

DSC_0065DSC_0066DSC_0067

I handstitches the seamlines according to my pattern.

DSC_0068

I sewed the crotch line.

DSC_0069

I placed some interfacing on the top piece of the zipper. The following are hard to explain, it took me a lot of time to figure out what I was supposed to do so I will let the photos do the job.

DSC_0070DSC_0071DSC_0072DSC_0073

Use a zipper foot.

DSC_0074

Handsew your zipper first, so that you are as accurate as possible. Hem the edges of your zipper fabric pieces.

DSC_0075DSC_0076DSC_0077

Zipper is ready!

DSC_0078

Now its time to sew the sides, then the pockets and the center back seam.

DSC_0079DSC_0080DSC_0081DSC_0082DSC_0083

At this point I got really tired and the next day I started my summer job, and didn’t have time to take photos! But the only thing that was left was the belt which is basically sewing right sides together, leaving a longer edge on the right side and installing the buttons! I also made it a little more narrow on the side so that it fits well and bam! Ready! It wasn’t easy for me because it was the first time following a pattern and the first time sewing pants! But it fitted me so well that once I finished it I was really excited. It is comfy yet stylish and really classy.

What do you think?

Let me know!

-Fotini

 

 

