Hello everyone!

I am trying to update this blog with as many posts as possible but it takes me forever to create every single one, since I have no experience blogging.

Anyway, a couple of months ago I bought a coat fabric from ifasma.eu, but I had a lot of things to take care of at the time, so I didn’t have the chance to design and sew my coat. When my finals ended, I decided it was about time to get it done.

I started designing the pattern, which is a pretty simple one.

DSC_0250

I made a couple of corrections after I cut the pieces on the fabric (something that I DO NOT recommend you do) and started pinning the pieces together. First the 2 pieces of the back,

DSC_0183

then the back and the front,

DSC_0186

and finally, the collar pieces.

DSC_0190

Ι added some interfacing and pressed it and this is how it looked so far.

DSC_0191

Then, I sewed the interior back piece,

DSC_0192

the sleeves, (I handstitched them first)

DSC_0197

(Loooooooook! My seam lines are perfectly aligned!)

DSC_0205.JPG

and then the lining pieces. Then I attached the lining to the coat by sewing the collar first and then hand stitching the sleeves and the bottom pieces to the coat.

DSC_0213.JPG

Finally, I reversed all the rough edges and handstitched most of those parts as I couldn’t find a better way. Ι also added 3 big buttons. An here it is finished.

DSC_0249DSC_0248DSC_0244

I really like it, it is comfy and warm! What do you guys think? Let me know!

See you soon! –Fotini.

